Bærum Town Hall (Bærum Rådhus)

The first stage of construction of the town hall was built in 1927 with the east wing and the bell tower, and in the period 1958–62 the wings facing the sea and the Sandvik river were built around the courtyard, which has a municipal council hall, chairman's hall, wedding room and banquet hall.  It was a challenge for the architects of the time to create functional symbolic buildings with a modern Norwegian expression, and Poulsson drew inspiration on a trip to northern Italy.

The town hall is built of whitewashed brick with ornaments in finely hewn stone and wrought iron. The ornamentation has its models in medieval Gothic, has bell towers in neo-Gothic style. The carillon in the City Hall was built in 1974 and consists of 25 bells. The theme song is written by the composer Geirr Tveit and is played every hour.

Outside the town hall are the fountain The Elements (1959-64) and the equestrian statue Friheten (1949-53), both by Arnold Haukeland.

Architect Magnus Poulsson (1881-1958)

Magnus Poulsson is considered one of the country's most prominent architects in the first half of the 1900s. Several major assignments such as Oslo City Hall were carried out together with his friend Arnstein Arneberg. His work ranges from simple workers' homes and grand villas to commercial buildings and churches. At Lysaker and Fornebu you will find several of Poulsson's villas as well as Oksenøen Bruk.

Source: Bærum Municipality

Members of Visit Greater Oslo

Bærums Verk – shopping

Handelstedet Bærums Verk

Bærums Verk – from ironworks to shopping & culture
HISTORY
400 years ago, King Christian IV of Denmark and Norway wanted his kingdom to be selfsufficient in iron production.His wish became reality when an iron ore was discovered at Kirkerud- and Eineåsen in Bærum. In1610, Paul Smelter as given the Kings commission to set up a melting hut at Wøyen. In 1922 the first melting furnace in the country was built here. In 1641 the ironworks was moved to where its remains are found today. During the ironworks heyday, everything from cannon balls and cannons to bar iron, armoured plates and rivets were produced. Later items, such as ovens, grave ornamentations, kitchen utensils, hardware and machine parts gradually became the mainstays of production. Five light-houses were also cast at Bærums Verk.One well known lighthouse; “Færder” (1855) is standing at the entrance of the Oslo Fjord. The Løkke Bridge in Sandvika was casted at the ironworks in 1829, and in 1895 it was immortalized by the French impressionist painter,Claude Monet.1872 saw the end of the meltery and the beginning of a foundry and mechanical workshop that lasted until 1964. The area surrounding Bærums Verk saw an extensive housing boom in the 1980’s which created the cornerstone for the development of Handelsstedet Bærums Verk.
CRAFTS
Verksgata at Bærums Verk has a rich and exciting artisan milieu. From the era of the iron works, there has been skilled craftsmen at Bærums Verk. Woodcarvers and smiths have had their production tasks. For the rich decorated oven plates, the moulds were first carved in wood, and afterwards the plates were casted in sand. Today one will discover a dynamic atmosphere within the handicrafts, strolling down Verksgata, the main street of Bærums Verk. Among others one will find a blacksmith, glassblowers, a special shop for patchwork, carpenter’s workshop and traditional Norwegian handicrafts. The18th century wooden living quarters of the workers have been restored, and is now providing a distrinctive framework for this memorable setting. Here one can purchase that unique gift. Here is something for every taste and every occasion.

A stroll down Verksgata is a pleasant experience in itself. From the smithy’s sounds the clang of the anvil, and from the carpenter’s workshop one can enjoy the smell of freshly cut wood. If one is lucky, one can also see the most exquisite glasses being blown.“custom made” gifts are being produced by the artisans at Bærums Verk.
SHOPPING
THE FOUNDRY – THE FURNACE – THE IRON STOCK
Trade and commerce have always been of central importance to Bærums Verk’s history. This tradition continues today. In 1985, restoration began to revitalize the old buildings into a charming cultural and social centre. The second stage in this process accured in 1997 with the refurbishment of the old production locations: The foundry, the furnace and the iron stock. Today, Bærums Verk has become a unique shopping centre in historical surroundings. Apart from shops that offers necessities and services for the local community (such as health services, food, clothing and leasure activities), there are also speciality establishments in interior design. In the spring of 1998, “Handelsstedet Bærums Verk” received ICSC’s international prize for innovative thinking within the development of shoppingcentres.
ELVEGANGEN
Prize for building esthetics.
In earlier days, this section contained workshops such as a smithy, tinker workshop and a gaswork. After a large fire ravaged the area, the octangular Gas Building (1870) was the only one left standing. This gas building, together with the Tavern (1640) and the Stoke House (1924) created the foundation for the new row of houses that were constructed in 1985. Løvenskiold-Vækerø recieved an arcitectual prize for Building Esthetics in 1988 for this new development. Now you can find 50 shops, craftsmen , workshops , galleries and restaurants, trade, crafts and one uniqe Sculpture park.
THE MUSEUM OF BÆRUMS VERK – THE OVEN MUSEUM
The oven museum houses an unique collection of antique cast-iron ovens produced at the Ironworks. The styles and designs shown strech from the baroque period in the the 1700’s up to the end of production in 1964. The museum is included in a guided tour at Bærums Verk. 

Bærums Verk has received several awards. Byggeskikk Prize in 1988, ICSC 's international award for innovation in the development of shopping centers in 1998. In 2002 we also received the Olavsrosa , awarded by the Norwegian Heritage. This is a trademark of adventures based on the Norwegian cultural heritage.

Bærums Verk is situated at the entrance to Lommedalen , not far from Sandvika.

OPEN ALL YEAR !

GUIDING
Do you want to get an insight into the work history and a tour of The Oven Museum as well as to experience the area , shops , workshops and galleries , you can book a guide at the information office, tel. 67 13 00 18. We provide historical guiding, duration approx. 1 hour , which includes walking through the area , entrance to the Oven Museum and stopping along the way.
Price: NOK 1500 , – for groups up to 30 people. Price includes tickets to the Oven Museum

Member of Visit Greater Oslo 

Svanfoss river lock

The lock provides access between Mjøsa and Vormas lower parts as well as Glomma between Rånåsfoss and Funnefoss and are among the few in the whole region. The lock was build during early 1900 and was opened in 1910 – and closed from 1973 to 1993, when a restored lock was reopened after a collaboration between NVE, Eidsvoll municipality, Nes municipality and Glommens and Laagens Brukseierforening.

There are opportunities for lock-in by contacting the lock guard at least an hour before the planned lock-in either from Vorma or Mjøsa – for more information see Nes municipality's pages.

The boat Elvekongen has boat trips up Vorma with lock in – for more information and ordering tickets see www.elvekongen.no

Member of Visit Greater Oslo 

Kjørbo farm

This is Sandvika’s oldest farm, constructed early in the Iron Age. The farm is located by the water in Kjørbo park, on the west side of the mouth of the Sandvikselven river. Architect C. H. Grosch designed the tower. The storyteller H.C. Andersen visited Kjørbo’s main farm in 1871, where he read from his collection of fairy tales. At the property today is a park that is open to the public, and which forms part of the coastal path. The Asker and Bærum police headquarters are located here.

The lime mill culture centre (Kalkmølla kulturstasjon)

Kalkmølla cultural center was established in 2026 and is today a cultural center for great music experiences. The building has fantastic acoustics and you can get close to the musicians during the concerts.

The history of Kalkmølla began in the millennium when monks came to Norway and wanted to build monasteries of stone. This provided the basis for an important industry in Bærum from the millennium until the beginning of the 19th century and Bærum's municipal coat of arms is the symbol of a lime kiln, several of which can be found in the area around Sanvidka and Slependen.

The history of lime extraction began in 1916 when shipowner and captain W.B.Markussen went ashore, moved from Grimstad and onto Hamang Gård. Here, a significant limestone passage ran across the property with Franzefossen. The waterfall is named after Knut Frantzen, an active businessman in the 16th century. In the late nineteenth century and until the First World War, tanneries, small industrial activities and the extraction of masonry stone, for which the limestone is well suited, were operated with varying success. Sandvika Kalkmølle/Franzefoss lime mill grew rapidly, first with a silo and packing plant for limestone flour opposite the mill by the waterfall, then a large crushing plant and concrete factory. In 1952, the open pit was empty of lime and the limestone vein had to be pursued with mining. When the mining was closed in 1992, the mine went in 2 floors 700 meters down to under Helgerud Church.

The importance of lime lies in its ability to neutralize acid and to release and absorb CO2. The lime in the Oslo field is from the Silurian (350 million years ago) where animal and plant remains were deposited in shallow seas together with large amounts of clay. In this soup, clay and lime separated like milk and cream, forming clay shales and more or less thick limestone beds. Limestone is a mild base whose surface reacts with acid until neutrality is reached. By grinding the limestone into flour, the surface is increased and it was found that it was a good way for agriculture to counteract acidic soil. This gave the new owner of Hamang Gård the idea of ​​building a mill, with power from Franzefossen, to grind the limestone into agricultural lime. This was the start of what we know today as Franzefoss Bruk. After World War II, there was a great need for building materials to rebuild the country and the operation was developed to include other products such as stone and the factory expanded with a large crushed stone plant and concrete factory.

Sandvikselven a salmon river

Sandvikselven was one of the best salmon rivers in Eastern Norway and the community's concern about the business operation was primarily related to the anticipated damming of the river. In 1917, construction began on the dam and the salmon ladder that can be seen in the river behind Kalkmølla, a turbine gate with a turbine and generator, a crusher and a mill with a silo. Architect Kristian Hjalmar Biong added good architectural values ​​to the building. The salmon ladder became an important element in the preservation of the river. Bærum Jeger og Fiskeforening does a fantastic job of cultivating the river and today the Sandvik River is full of fish and life.

In 2026, the dream of using the old lime mill as a concert venue became a reality. A grand piano was purchased with the help of Wolfgang Plagge and the Kalkmølla Kulturstasjon foundation.

More information can be found on Kalkmølla's website and on the signs placed outside the house facing the river. Everyone is welcome to take a break on the benches outside and take in the beautiful surroundings.

Hiking and biking in the area

It is very pleasant to walk down the river from us to Sandvika, about 30 minutes car-free walk to Sandvika bus station or up along Lomma to Bærums Verk where there are exciting galleries and craft shops, restaurants and a shopping mall. The trip to Bærums Verk takes just over 1 hour.

Enjoy your visit.

Oscarsborg Fortress

Oscarsborg Fortress is a jewel in the Drøbak narrow. In summer, Oscarsborg is perfect for families and for those interested in nature, culture and history. Oscarsborg Fortress Museum presents the history of the place and organises guided tours. There are plenty of activities for children. A safari through the subterranean tunnels below the fortress, obstacle courses, bathing beaches and crab fishing.

The unique surroundings of the fortress provide a fantastic arena for the theatre, opera and concerts which are organised during the summer season. At Oscarsborg you will find an art gallery, exhibitions, hotel and a good selection of places to eat. In summer you can travel by ferry from Drøbak and Oslo, or arrive with your own boat to Oscarsborg Marina.

History

Akershus Fortress had been the defender of the capital Oslo/Christiania for hundred of years. In the sixteenth century there was a great deal of unrest in Europe and it became important to have a fortification further out from the capital. The Drøbak Sound was identified as a strategic position for defence. In 1640 King Christian IV in Copenhagen ordered a blockhouse to be built on the Southern Kaholmen, which was finished in 1643.

The state bought the two Kaholmen Islands in 1845. The planning began immediately and the construction works started in 1846. After the visit of King Oscar in 1855 the fortress was given the name Oscarsborg. However, already in the 1860’s the fortress was out of date, developments in artillery had been rapid and the technical revolution had created a transformation in the way warfare was conducted.

Originally the fortress Oscarsborg was created to resist attack from sea and not over land. To withstand attacks over land the fortress was extended from 1890. New gun batteries were placed on Kaholmen, Håøya and on both sides of the fjord. An underwater stone wall (jeté), minefield, torpedo battery and entrenchments was also built.

When the negotiations with Sweden took place in 1905, the Oscarsborg fortress was regarded as the strongest fortress in northern Europe, with a defensive line that stretched 10 km from the Heer Entrenchment in the east to the top of Håøya in the west.

On the 9th of April 1940 Oscarsborg Fortress endured its first real trial. The fortress delayed the German attack by sinking the heavy cruiser “Blücher”; the newest cruiser of Germany. This slowed the attack, which gave the King, Government and Parliament sufficient time to evacuate Oslo and later on take up the fight against the occupation of Norway.

After the Second World War the strategic importance of Oscarsborg reduced and the last fortification was ended on the 1st of January 1993 and in 2002 the fortress became finally abolished.

In 2004 the Parliament decided to create The National Fortifications Heritage(“Nasjonale festningsverk”) which has the responsibility for the maintenance of 14 historical fortresses, among them Oscarsborg Fortress.

Cultural arena

Oscarsborg is a unique cultural arena for opera and concerts throughout the summer season. This year has an exciting programme with an acoustic pop/rock festival, wandering theatre troupes and fantastic opera experiences in the courtyard throughout August – just to mention a few. Oscarsborg has an art gallery run by Avistegnerne in Drøbak. “Forsvarets Hus” (“Military House”) in Kommandantboligen shows how the Norwegian military is today.

Getting here

The island can be reached by boat from Drøbak all year and there are buses from Oslo to Drøbak with regular departures. During spring and summer months you may take the ferry B21/B22 from Oslo, Aker Brygge to Oscarsborg and Drøbak. Ferry scedules

 

Member of Visit Greater Oslo

Polhøgda

Polhøgda at Lagåsen was the home of the infamous polar explorer, scientist, diplomat, humanist and Nobel Peace Prize Laureate Fridtjof Nansen (1861-1930). The fortress-like brick villa in neo-Roman style was designed by Nansen himself, in collaboration with palace architect Hjalmar Welhaven. Nansen lived here from when the building was completed in 1901 until his death. His grave is situated in the garden in front of the house.
This is not an open museum, but it is possible to visit the grounds, garden and grave, and beautiful surroundings. Today, the Fridtjof Nansen Institute (FNI) manages and uses the buildings. This is an independent institution that carries out research into international environment, energy and resource management policies.